Country Profile: Eswatini


The Kingdom of Eswatini, officially renamed in April 2018 after previously being known as Swaziland, is a small developing country in Africa surrounded by Mozambique and South Africa. Eswatini was a British protectorate from 1903 to 1968, but now is an absolute monarchy ruled by King Mswati III since the 1980s. Its population is mostly made up of ethnic Swazis.

Capital: Mbabane

There are no nuclear power plants or research reactors in Eswatini.


  • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 2013
  • Member of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 1970
  • Acceded to 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1991
  • Signed Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Signed Arms Trade Treaty in 2013
  • Acceded to the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1991
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1996
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2016
  • Acceded to Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2011
  • Acceded to Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1969
  • Signed & Ratified Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2003
  • Signed International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2005
  • Signed Treaty of Pelindaba in 1996
    • Ratified in 2000
  • Signed Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1969
    • Ratified in 1970


  • Member of G-77
  • Member of the African Group



The Government of The Kingdom of Eswatini

The Permanent Mission of Eswatini to the United Nations

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament