Country Profile: Tunisia


Located in North Africa’s Maghreb region as well as on the African Mediterranean Coast, Tunisia borders Algeria to the west and Libya to the east The Arab Spring movement of 2011 began in Tunis, effectively resulting in parliamentary elections. Today Tunisia is classified as the only fully democratic state in the Arab world. Tunisia is a semi-presidential representative democratic republic that gained its independence in 1956.

Capital: Tunis

There are no nuclear research reactors in Tunisia. In 2006, Tunisia began evaluating the possibility of building a 600 MWe nuclear power plant, and signed a MOU with Russia to that effect in 2015. The goal was for the NPP to be operational in or near 2020.


  • Member of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 1961
  • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 1957
  • Acceded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1967
  • Signed Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1999
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 1973
  • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1997
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2004
  • Acceded to Convention on Certain Chemical Weapons in 1987
  • Signed Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2009
    • Ratified in 2010
  • Signed & Ratified Convention on Environmental Modification Techniques (ENMOD) in 1978
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 1993
  • Acceded to International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2010
  • Signed Outer Space Treaty in 1967
    • Ratified in 1968
  • Signed Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1996
    • Ratified in 2009
  • Signed Treaty of Pelindaba in 1996
    • Ratified in 2009
  • Signed & Ratified Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
  • Signed Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1970


  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the G-21
  • Member of the African Union
  • Member of the Africa Group
  • Member of the League of Arab States
  • Member of the Organization for Islamic Cooperation (OIC)


  • President of the Conference on Disarmament in 2018
  • Non-Permanent Member of the UN Security Council in 2000-2001
  • Member of the IAEA Board of Governors in 2005-2006 and 2011-2012


Republic of Tunisia Ministry of Foreign Affairs

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament