Country Profile: Turkmenistan


One of the most sparsely populated nations in Asia, Turkmenistan is bordered by Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Iran, Afghanistan, and has access to the Caspian Sea. Turkmenistan is extremely rich in natural gas resources. Turkmenistan is  a presidential republic that declared its independence in 1991 after the fall of the Soviet Union. In 1995 Turkmenistan declared a policy of “permanent neutrality” which prevents the country from participating in multinational defense organizations.

Capital: Ashgabat

There are no nuclear power plants or research reactors in Turkmenistan.


  • Member of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 1995
  • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 2016
  • Signed Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Acceded to Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1996
  • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1994
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Acceded to Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2004
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2005
  • Acceded to International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2008
  • Acceded to Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1994
  • Signed Treaty on a Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone in Central Asia (CANWFZ) in 2006
    • Ratified in 2009


  • Member of the Asia-Pacific Group
  • Member of G-77



Permanent Mission of Turkmenistan to the United Nations

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Turkmenistan

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament