Country Profile: Vanuatu


Located in the South Pacific off the coast of Australia and New Zealand, the Vanuatu gained independence in 1980, and it  has maintained strong economic ties with New Zealand, the EU, the United States, as well as China.

Capital: Port Vila

There are no nuclear power plants or research reactors in Vanuatu.


  • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 2015
  • Member of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 1983
  • Signed Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2005
  • Signed Arms Trade Treaty in 2013
  • Succeeded to the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 2016
  • Acceded to the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 2005
  • Signed the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2005
  • Signed the South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Treaty in 1995
    • Ratified in 1996
  • Acceded to the Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1995
  • Signed the Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2017
    • Ratified in 2018


  • Member of the Asia-Pacific Group
  • Member of the G-77



Government of Vanuatu

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament