Country Profile: Zambia


The Republic of Zambia is a landlocked African country bordered by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Tanzania, Malawi, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia, and Angola. Zambia is a presidential representative democratic republic that gained its independence in 1964.

Capital: Lusaka

There are no nuclear power plants or research reactors in Zambia.


  • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 1969
  • Member of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 1964
  • Signed Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2001
  • Signed Arms Trade Treaty in 2013
    • Ratified in 2016
  • Acceded to the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 2008
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 2001
  • Signed the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (NPT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2006
  • Acceded to the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2013
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2009
  • Acceded to the Outer Space Treaty in 1973
  • Succeeded to the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1965
  • Acceded to the Sea-bed Treaty in 1972
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2016
  • Acceded to the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2017
  • Acceded to the Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1991
  • Signed the Treaty of Pelindaba in 1996
    • Ratified in 2010
  • Signed the Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2019


  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the African Union
  • Member of the G-77



Permanent Mission of Zambia to the United Nations

Republic of Zambia Ministry of Foreign Affairs

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament