Country Profile: Bolivia


The Plurinational State of Bolivia is a landlocked country located in the western-central South America. Bolivia shares the border with Brazil to the east, Paraguay to the southeast, Argentina to the south, Chile to the southwest, and Peru to the northwest. Bolivia is a presidential democratic republic that gained its independence in 1825.

Capital: Sucre

Bolivia does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities. However, a nuclear technology research and development center is to be constructed in El Alto, the second largest city in Bolivia. The center will have three components: a cyclotron radiotherapy facility, a multi-purpose gamma radiation facility and a nuclear reactor. The one-of-a-kind project, due to the highest altitude a nuclear facility has ever been built, is scheduled to have its construction done by 2022.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1979
  • Signed Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1970
  • Acceded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1979
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 1975
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 1999
  • Signed the Outer Space Treaty in 1967
  • Signed the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
    • Ratified in 1965
  • Signed the Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2002
  • Signed the Convention on Environmental Modification Techniques (ENMOD) in 1977
  • Signed the Inter-American Convention on Transparency in 1999
  • Signed the Treaty of Tlatelolco in 1967
    • Ratified in 1969
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Acceded to the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2001
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2013
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in 2018
    • Ratified in 2019



  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Latin American and the Caribbean Group (GRULAC)
  • Founding Member of the Organization of American States (OAS)



  • Chair of the G-77 in 2014
  • Chair of the 1540 Committee in 2018/2017
  • Member of the 1540 Committee in 2016/2015
  • Non-Permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) in 2017/2018



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament