Country Profile: Armenia (Observer)


The Republic of Armenia is a landlocked Eurasian country bordered by Turkey, Georgia, Azerbaijan, and Iran. Armenia first announced its independence as a republic in 1918 before becoming a founding member of the Soviet Union. It has been a unitary parliamentary republic since the dissolution of the USSR in 1991.

Capital: Yerevan

There are no nuclear research reactors in Armenia.

Nuclear energy supplies roughly one quarter of Armenia’s power grid. The country’s nuclear power plant, METSAMOR, contains two units of VVER V-270 reactors, only one of which is operational. ARMENIAN-2 first reached criticality in 1980 but was in extended shutdown from 1989-1995 before being restarted. ARMENIAN-1 first reached criticality in 1976 but has been in permanent shutdown since 1989. The plant is owned by the Ministry of Energy & Natural Resources of RA.


  • Observer of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
  • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 1993
  • Acceded to 1925 Geneva Protocol in 2018
  • Acceded to Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1994
  • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1995
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty in 1996
    • Ratified in 2006
  • Acceded to Convention on Environmental Modification Techniques (ENMOD) in 2002
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 1993
  • Signed International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2005
    • Ratified in 2010
  • Acceded to Moon Treaty (Celestial Bodies) in 2018
  • Acceded to Outer Space Treaty in 2018
  • Acceded to Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1994
  • Signed Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe (CFE) in 1990
    • Ratified in 1992
  • Acceded to Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1993


  • Member of the Council of Europe
  • Member of the Collective Security Treaty Organization
  • Member of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)
  • Participant in Partnership for Peace (PfP)
  • Observer of the Arab League
  • Member of the Eastern European Group


Armenian Nuclear Regulatory Authority

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Armenia

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Memberships in International Organizations Related to Disarmament