Country Profile: Croatia (Observer)


The Republic of Croatia is a southeastern European country in the Balkans region, bordered by Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Serbia, and Montenegro. Croatia declared independence in 1991 out of the former state of Yugoslavia. Today it is a unitary parliamentary constitutional republic.

Capital: Zagreb

There are no nuclear power plants or research reactors in Croatia.


  • Observer of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
  • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 1993
  • Acceded to 1925 Geneva Protocol in 2006
  • Signed Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Signed Arms Trade Treaty in 2013
    • Ratified in 2014
  • Succeeded to Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1993
  • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1995
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty in 1996
    • Ratified in 2001
  • Succeeded to Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 1993
  • Signed Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2009
  • Succeed to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 1992
  • Signed International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of International Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2005
    • Ratified in 2007
  • Succeeded to Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1993
  • Acceded to Treaty on Open Skies Treaty in 2004
  • Succeeded to Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1992


  • Member of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE)
  • Member of the Eastern European Group
  • Member of the European Union (EU)



  • Non-permanent member of the UN Security Council in 2008/2009
  • Vice-Chairperson of the UN First Committee in 2008
  • Vice-Chairperson of the 1540 Committee in 2008/2009


Permanent Mission of Croatia to the United Nations

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Croatia

UN State Summary

Ratifications of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament