Country Profile: Mexico (Observer)


The United Mexican States occupies the southern part of North America, bordered by the United States to the north and Guatemala and Belize to the south. It became an independent federation in 1821 and is today a federal constitutional presidential republic.

Capital: Mexico City

Mexico has two operational nuclear power plants (LAGUNA VERDE-1 and LAGUNA VERDE-2), BWR-type reactors that first went online in 1988 and 1994, respectively, and are operated by the Federal Energy Commission. Nuclear energy accounts for roughly 5% of Mexico’s electricity production.

The Mexican National Institute of Nuclear Investigations operates one TRIGA Mark III research reactor, used mainly for isotope production and activation analysis as well as education & training. Mexico also operates a subcritical reactor through the National Polytechnical Institute used for education & training.


        • Observer of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
        • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 1958
        • Acceded to 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1932
        • Signed Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
          • Ratified in 1998
        • Signed & Ratified Arms Trade Treaty in 2013
        • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
          • Ratified in 1974
        • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
          • Ratified in 1994
        • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
          • Ratified in 1999
        • Signed Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 1981
          • Ratified in 1982
        • Signed Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
          • Ratified in 2009
        • Signed Inter-American Convention on Firearms in 1997
          • Ratified in 1998
        • Signed Inter-American Convention on Transparency in 1999
          • Ratified in 2011
        • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 1998
        • Signed & Ratified International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2006
        • Acceded to Moon Treaty (Celestial Bodies) in 1991
        • Signed Outer Space Treaty in 1967
          • Ratified in 1968
        • Signed & Ratified Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
        • Acceded to Sea-bed Treaty in 1984
        • Signed & Ratified Treaty of Tlatelolco in 1967
        • Signed Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons in 1968
          • Ratified in 1969
        • Signed Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in 2017
          • Ratified in 2018


        • Member of G-21
        • Member of the Uniting for Consensus (UfC) Group
        • Founding Member of the Organization of American States (OAS)
        • Founding Member of the Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (OPANAL)
        • Founding Member of the Organization of Iber-American States
        • Member of the Latin-American and Caribbean Group (GRULAC)


  • Chair of the 1540 Committee in 2010
  • Vice-Chair of the 1540 Committee in 2009
  • Rapporteur of the UN First Committee in 2010
  • Non-permanent member of the UN Security Council in 2002/2003 and 2009/2010



Permanent Mission of Mexico to the United Nations

Mexico Ministry of Foreign Affairs

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Memberships in International Organizations Related to Disarmament