Country Profile: Botswana


The Republic of Botswana is a landlocked country in Southern Africa that borders Namibia to the west and north, Zambia and Zimbabwe to the northwest and South Africa to the south. Botswana is a parliamentary republic that gained its independence in 1966. 

Capital: Gaborone

Botswana does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1970
  • Signed the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1969
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2000
  • Acceded to the Arms Trade Treaty in 2019
  • Signed the Biological weapons Convention in 1972
    • Ratified in 1992
  • Acceded to the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1998
  • Signed the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty in 2008
    • Ratified in 2011
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2011
  • Signed the Outer Space Treaty in 1967
  • Succeeded to the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1968
  • Signed the Pelindaba Treaty in 1971
    • Ratified in 1972
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM) in 2000
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2019



  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the African Union
  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the Southern African Development Community (SADC)



SADC Member State Botswana

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament