Country Profile: Montenegro (Observer)

Map of Montenegro


Montenegro is a country in the Balkans region of southeast Europe, located on the Adriatic Sea. It is bordered by Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Albania, Croatia, and the disputed territory of Kosovo. Montenegro was one of the co-founders of the Republic of Yugoslavia following World War I, until the breakup of Yugoslavia in the 1990s. A subsequent union with Serbia was dissolved in 2006, when Montenegro declared independence as a constitutional republic.

Capital: Podgorica

There are no nuclear power plants or research reactors in Montenegro.


  • Observer of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
  • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 2006
  • Succeeded to Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 2006
  • Signed Arms Trade Treaty in 2013
    • Ratified in 2014
  • Succeeded to Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 2006
  • Succeeded to Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 2006
  • Signed & Ratified Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 2006
  • Succeeded to Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2006
  • Signed Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2010
  • Succeeded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2006
  • Signed International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2006
    • Ratified in 2019
  • Signed Outer Space Treaty in 1967
  • Succeeded to Partial Test Ban Treaty in 2006
  • Succeeded to Sea-bed Treaty in 2006
  • Succeeded to Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 2006


  • Member of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE)
  • Member of NATO
  • Member of the Council of Europe
  • Member of the Eastern European Group


Montenegro Ministry of Foreign Affairs

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Memberships in International Organizations Related to Disarmament