Country Profile: Myanmar


The Republic of the Union of Myanmar is located in Southeast Asia. Myanmar borders India and Bangladesh to northwest, China to northeast, and Laos and Thailand to southeast. Myanmar is a parliamentary republic that gained its independence in 1948.

Capital: Nay Pyi Taw

Myanmar does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.

Previously, Myanmar aspired to build a 10-15 MW light water pool-type research reactor and an isotope laboratory, but the project has been postponed indefinitely.

According to a 2001 Myanmar Ministry of Energy report, Myanmar has 5 uranium deposits: Magwe and Taungdwingyi in Magway province, Kyaukpadaung and Paongpyin in Mandalay province, and Kyauksin in Rakhine province. Four of them contain low-grade uranium ore (less than 0.1 per cent uranium content); only one deposit, Magwe, has up to 0.5 per cent medium-grade.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1961
  • Acceded to the Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1992
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 2015
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 2014
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2016
  • Signed the Bangkok Treaty in 1995
    • Ratified in 1996
  • Signed the Outer Space Treaty in 1967
    • Ratified in 1970
  • Signed the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
    • Ratified in 1963
  • Signed the Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2018


  • Member of the Conference on Disarmament
  • Member of the G-21
  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Asia-Pacific Group
  • Member of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)


Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Myanmar

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament