Country Profile: Cambodia


The Kingdom of Cambodia is a Southeast Asian nation that borders Thailand to the northwest, Laos to the north, Vietnam to the east, and has access to the Gulf of Thailand through its southwest border. Cambodia is a constitutional monarchy that gained its independence in 1953.

Capital: Phnom Penh

Cambodia does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1961
  • Acceded to the Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1972
  • Acceded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1983
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 2005
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 1983
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2000
  • Signed the Bangkok Treaty in 1995
    • Ratified in 1997
  • Signed the Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
  • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2013
  • Acceded to the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 1997
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1999
  • Signed the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2006
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2006
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2019



  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Asia-Pacific Group
  • Member ASEAN



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament