Country Profile: Cape Verde


The Republic of Cabo Verde, or Cape Verde, is an island nation located in the Atlantic Ocean off the northwestern coast of Africa. Cape Verde consists of two island groups, Barlavento and Sotavento. It shares maritime borders with Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Mauritania, and Senegal.  Cape Verde is a semi-presidential representative democratic republic that gained its independence on 1975.

Capital: Praia

Cape Verde does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities. Cape Verde has previously expressed interest in acquiring floating nuclear power plants for electricity and seawater desalination, but no progress has been reported.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1976
  • Acceded to the Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1979
  • Acceded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1991
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 2003
  • Acceded to the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1977
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2006
  • Signed the Partial test Ban Treaty in 1996
  • Signed the Sea-bed Treaty in 1979
  • Signed the Pelindaba Treaty in 1996
  • Acceded to the Convention on Environmental Modifications Techniques (ENMOD) in 1979
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM) in 2007
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2001
  • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2013
    • Ratified in 2016
  • Acceded to the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 1997
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2010
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2017



  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the African Union



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament