Country Profile: Central African Republic


The Central African Republic is a landlocked country located in the center of the African Continent. It borders Chad to the north, Sudan to the northeast, South Sudan to the east, the Democratic Republic of Congo and the Republic of Congo to the south, and Cameroon to the west. The Central African Republic is a semi-presidential republic that gained its independence in 1960.

Capital: Bangui

The Central African Republic does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities. In 2014 the government began exploring the possibility of open pit uranium mining, but no progress has been reported.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1964
  • Acceded to the Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1970
  • Acceded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1970
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 2006
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 2018
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 2001
    • Ratified in 2010
  • Signed the Outer Space Treaty in 1967
  • Acceded to the Partial test Ban Treaty in 1965
  • Signed the Pelindaba Treaty 1996
  • Signed the Kinshasha Convention in 2010
    • Ratified in 2012
  • Acceded to the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 2002
  • Acceded to the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2015
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
  • Acceded to the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2008
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Protection of Physical Material (CPPNM) in 2008
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2017



  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the African Union



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament