Country Profile: Colombia



The Republic of Colombia is located in the northern part of South America. It borders Venezuela to the east, Brazil to the southeast, Peru and Ecuador to the south, Panama to the west, and has access to btoh the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea. Colombia is a constitutional republic that gained its independence in 1810.

Capital:  Bogota

Colombia does not have any operational nuclear power plants.

Colombia has one nuclear research reactor located in Bogota. The 30 MW thermal research reactor is used for activation analysis, geochronology, education & training, and neutron radiography.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1983
  • Signed Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1986
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 2000
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 1983
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2008
  • Acceded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 2015
  • Acceded to the Antarctic Treaty in 1989
  • Acceded to the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2000
  • Acceded to the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2000
  • Signed the Inter-American Convention on Firearms in 1997
    • Ratified in 2003
  • Signed the Inter-American Convention on Transparency in 1999
  • Signed the Outer Space Treaty in 1967
  • Signed the Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2000
  • Signed the Outer Space Treaty in 1967
  • Signed the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
    • Ratified in 1985
  • Signed the Treaty of Tlatelolco in 1967
    • Ratified in 1972
  • Signed the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2006
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2003
    • Ratified the 2005 CPPNM amendment in 2014
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2018



  • Member of the Conference on Disarmament
  • Member of the G-21
  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Latin American and Caribbean Group (GRULAC)
  • Member of the Organization of American States (OAS)



  • Chair of the Third Session of the Preparatory Committee for the NPT in 1999
  • Secretary General of the Organization of American States (OAS) in 1994-2004 period
  • Member of the 1540 Committee in 2011/2012
  • Non-Permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) in 2001/2002 and 2011/2012
  • Chair of the 11th NAM Summit in 1995



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament