Country Profile: Comoros


The Union of the Comoros is an island country located in the Indian Ocean off the eastern coast of Africa. The Comorian archipelago consists of four islands, one of which is administered by France. Comoros is a federal presidential republic that gained its independence in 1974.

Capital: Moroni

Comoros does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1976
  • Acceded to the Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1995
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 2006
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
  • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2013
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2010
  • Acceded to the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 2002
  • Signed the Pelindaba Treaty in 1996
    • Ratified in 2010
  • Acceded to the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2007
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2007
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2017



  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the African Union
  • Member of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)
  • Member of the League of Arab States (LAS)


UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament