Country Profile: Congo


The Republic of the Congo is located on the west coast of central Africa, and it borders the Central African Republic to the north, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) to the east, the Angolan exclave Cabinda to the south, Gabon to the west, and Cameroon to the northwest. The Republic of the Congro is often referred to as Congo (Brazzaville) with its capital added parenthetically, to distinguish from the neighboring DRC. Congo is a semi-presidential republic that gained independence in 1960.

Capital: Brazzaville

Congo does not currently possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.

In 2019 Congo signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Russian State Atomic Energy Corporation, Rosatom, for a two-year roadmap to explore the field of peaceful nuclear energy. The roadmap envisions the creation of a center for nuclear science and technology and lays the foundation for training personnel and raising public awareness about atomic energy.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1964
  • Signed Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1978
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 2007
  • Acceded to the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1978
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1997
    • Ratified in 2014
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2014
  • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2013
  • Signed the Kinshasa Convention in 2010
    • Ratified in 2012
  • Acceded to the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 2001
  • Signed the Sea-bed Treaty in 1978
  • Signed the Pelindaba Treaty in 1997
    • Ratified in 2013
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2017



  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the African Union



  • Chair of the Assembly of the African Union in 2006/2007
  • Non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) in 2006/2007
  • Member of the 1540 Committee in 2006/2007



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament