Country Profile: Algeria


The People's Democratic Republic of Algeria is situated in North Africa, with the Mediterranean Sea along its northern border, Tunisia, Libya, and Niger to the East, Mali and Mauritania on its southern border, and Western Sahara and Morocco to the West. Algeria gained independence in 1962 and is currently a semi-presidential republic.

Capital: Algiers

Algeria has two nuclear research reactors: the Nur Reactor, which is a pool-type reactor operated by the Draria Nuclear Research Center since 1989 and is used for isotope production, neutron scattering, activation analysis, and education & training; and the Es-Salem Reactor, a heavy water reactor that has been in temporary shutdown since 2015.

The Nuclear Fuel Fabrication Pilot Plant began operation in 1999 and works on development of rod and plate type nuclear fuel elements. In 2013, Algeria announced its decision to have a nuclear power reactor built and operational by 2025. In 2014, the Ministry of Energy signed an agreement with the Russian company Rosatom to develop this plant.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1961
  • Acceded to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1995
  • Acceded to the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 2001
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1995
  • Signed the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty in 1996
    • Ratified in 2003
  • Signed the Pelindaba Treaty in 1996
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Acceded to the Outer Space Treaty in 1992
  • Signed the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
  • Acceded to the Sea-bed Treaty in 1992
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2001
  • Acceded to the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2015
  • Acceded to the Convention on Environmental Modification Techniques (ENMOD) in 1991
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM) in 2003
  • Acceded to the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2011
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2017


  • Member of the Conference on Disarmament
  • Member of the G-21
  • Member of the Africa Group
  • Member of the Arab League
  • Member of the G-77


  • Chairperson of the CTBTO PrepComm (1999/2005)
  • Member of the 1540 Committee (2004/2005)
  • Chairman IAEA Board of Governors (1992-1993 & 2008-2009)
  • President of the 13 MSP of the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention (2013)
  • NAM/G77 Joint Coordination Committee (2014)
  • President of the NPT Review Conference (2000 & 2015)
  • Member of the OPCW Executive Council (2017-2018)
  • Vice-President of the Disarmament Commission (2018)


Algeria Declaration of Landmine Clearance Completion

Radiological Conditions at the French Former Nuclear Test Sites in Algeria - IAEA Report

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Memberships in International Organizations Related to Disarmament