Country Profile: Dominican Republic


The Dominican Republic is a Caribbean nation that shares an island with Haiti and is bordered by the Caribbean Sea to the south and the Atlantic Ocean to the north. It is a representative democracy, where the President functions as both the head of the government and the head of the multi-party system. The Republic gained its independence in 1844.

Capital: Santo Domingo

Dominican Republic does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 2000
  • Signed the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1971
  • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2013
    • Ratified in 2014
  • Acceded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1970
  • Signed the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 1973
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 2009
  • Signed the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2007
  • Signed the Outer Space Treaty in 1967
    • Ratified in 1968
  • Signed the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
    • Ratified in 1964
  • Signed the Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
    • Ratified in 1972
  • Signed the Treaty of Tlatelolco in 1967
    • Ratified in 1968
  • Acceded to the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2010
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2009
    • Ratified in 2011
  • Signed the Inter-American Convention on Firearms 1997
    • Ratified in 2009
  • Accepted the Inter-American Convention on Transparency in 2009
  • Signed the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM) in 1980
    • Ratified in 2009
  • Acceded to the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2008
  • Signed and ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear weapons (TPNW) in 2018
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2000


  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Latin American and Caribbean Group (GRULAC)
  • Member of the Organization of American States (OAS)
  • Member of the Organization for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (OPANAL)
  • Observer in the Caribbean Community (CARICOM)



  • Member of the 1540 Committee in 2019
  • Non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) in 2019/2020



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament