Country Profile: Gambia


The Republic of the Gambia is a country on the western coast of Africa, almost completely surrounded by Senegal. Gambia is a presidential republic that gained its independence in 1965.

Capital: Banjul

There are no nuclear power plants or research reactors in The Gambia.


          • Member of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 1973
          • Membership approved – pending deposit of legal instruments – with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in 2016
          • Succeeded to 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1966
          • Signed Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
            • Ratified in 2002
          • Signed Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
            • Ratified in 2018
          • Signed Outer Space Treaty in 1967
          • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
            • Ratified in 1997
          • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
            • Ratified in 1998
          • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 2003
          • Signed & Ratified Treaty of Pelindaba in 1996
          • Succeeded to Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1965
          • Signed Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
          • Signed Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1968
            • Ratified in 1975
          • Signed Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2017
            • Ratified in 2018


          • Member of the African Group
          • Member of the African Union (AU)
          • Member of the G-77
          • Member of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)


UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament