Country Profile: Grenada


Located in Caribbean Sea, the State of Grenada consists of three islands: Grenada, Carriacou, and Petite Martinique. The State of Grenada lies between Trinidad and Tobago to the south and St. Vincent and the Grenadines to the north. Grenada is a parliamentary representative democracy that gained its independence in 1974.

Capital: Saint George’s

Grenada does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1979
  • Succeeded to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1975
  • Succeeded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1989
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1997
    • Ratified in 2005
  • Ratified Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1986
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Signed the Treaty of Tlatelolco in 1975
  • Signed and ratified the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2013
  • Acceded to the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2014
  • Acceded to the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2011
  • Signed the Inter-American Convention on Firearms in 1997
    • Ratified in 2002
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2019
  • Ratified the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM) in 2002
    • Ratified in 1991
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1998


  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Latin America and Caribbean group (GRULAC)



 UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament