Country Profile: Guinea-Bissau


The Republic of Guinea-Bissau is located in West Africa with access to the Atlantic Ocean, and borders Senegal to the north and Guinea to the south. Guinea-Bissau is a semi-presidential representative democratic republic that gained its independence in 1974.

Capital: Bissau

Guinea-Bissau does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1976
  • Ratified the Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1976
  • Acceded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1989
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 2008
  • Acceded to the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1976
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1997
    • Ratified in 2013
  • Acceded to the Outer Space Treaty in 1976
  • Acceded to the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1976
  • Acceded to the Sea-bed Treaty om 1976
  • Signed the Pelindaba Treaty in 1996
    • Ratified in 2012
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2001
  • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2013
    • Ratified in 2018
  • Acceded to the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2008
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2010
  • Acceded to the Convention on Physical protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM) in 2008
  • Acceded the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2008
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2018



  • Member of the African Union since 1973
  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the G-77



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament