Country Profile: Guyana


The Republic of Guyana is located on the northern coast of South American, bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the north, Brazil to the southwest, Suriname to the east, and Venezuela to the northwest. Guyana is a presidential representative democratic republic that gained its independence in 1966.

Capital: Georgetown

Guyana does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1970
  • Acceded to the Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1993
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1997
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1973
    • Ratified in 2013
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 2000
    • Ratified in 2001
  • Signed the Outer Space Treaty in 1967
  • Signed and ratified the Treaty of Tlatelolco in 1995
  • Acceded to the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2014
  • Signed the Inter-American Convention on Firearms in 1997
    • Ratified in 2008
  • Signed and ratified the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2013
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2003
  • Acceded to the Convention to the Physical protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2007
  • Signed the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2005
  • Signed and ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2017


  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Latin American and Caribbean Group (GRULAC)
  • Member of the Organization of American States (OAS)
  • Member of the Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in the Latin America and the Caribbean (OPANAL)



  • Chairperson for the Group of 77 in 1999
  • President of the UN General Assembly in 1993
  • Vice-Chair of the 73rd First Committee Session in 2018



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament