Country Profile: Haiti


Haiti is located in the Caribbean Sea and shares the island of Hispaniola with the Dominican Republic. Haiti is a semi-presidential republic that gained its independence on 1804.

Capital: Port-au-Prince

Haiti does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 2006
  • Signed Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1970
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 2006
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2005
  • Signed the Outer Space Treaty in 1967
  • Signed the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
  • Signed the Treaty of Tlatelolco in 1967
    • Ratified in 1969
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2006
  • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2014
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2009
  • Signed the Inter-American Convention in Firearms in 1997
    • Ratified in 2007
  • Signed the Inter-American Convention on Transparency in 1999
  • Signed the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM) in 1980



  • Member of the Organization of American States (OAS) since 1948
  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Latin American and Caribbean Group (GRULAC)


UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament