Country Profile: Jamaica


Located in the Caribbean Sea, Jamaica is an island country and is the third largest Caribbean island after Cuba and Hispaniola.  Jamaica is a parliamentary democracy under constitutional monarchy that gained its independence in 1962. 

Capital: Kingston

Jamaica does not have any operational nuclear power plants. 

Jamaica is the only country in the Caribbean that operates a nuclear research reactor. The 20 kW SLOWPOKE reactor is part of West Indies University and is used for activation analysis, geochronology, education & training.



          • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1970
          • Signed Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1969
            • Ratified in 1970
          • Succeeded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1970
          • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1997
            • Ratified in 2000
          • Acceded to the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1975
          • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
            • Ratified in 2001
          • Signed the Outer Space Treaty in 1967
            • Ratified in 1970
          • Signed the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
            • Ratified in 1991
          • Signed the Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
            • Ratified in 1986
          • Signed the Treaty of Tlatelolco in 1967
            • Ratified in 1969
          • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2013
            • Ratified in 2014
          • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
            • Ratified in 1998
          • Acceded to the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2008
          • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2009
          • Signed the Inter-American Convention on Firearms in 1997
          • Signed the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2006
            • Ratified in 2013
          • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2005
            • Accepted the 2005 CPPNM Amendment in 2014
          • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2017



          • Member of the G-77
          • Member of the Latin America and Caribbean Group (GRULAC)
          • Member of the Organization of American States (OAS)
          • Member of the Organization for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (OPANAL)
          • Member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM)



          • Chair of the UN First Committee in 2014
          • Member of the UNSC in 2000/2001



Permanent Mission of Jamaica to the United Nations

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament