Country Profile: Kenya


The Republic of Kenya is located in East Africa, and it is bordered by Uganda, Tanzania, South Sudan, Somali, Ethiopia and has access to the Indian Ocean.  Kenya is a presidential republic that gained its independence in 1963.

Capital: Nairobi

Kenya does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1964
  • Signed Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1970
  • Acceded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1970
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1997
  • Acceded to the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1976
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2000
  • Acceded to the Outer Space Treaty in 1984
  • Acceded to the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1965
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
  • Signed the Pelindaba Treaty in 1996
    • Ratified in 2001
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2001
  • Signed the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2005
    • Ratified in 2006
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2002
    • Accepted the 2005 CPPNM Amendment in 2007



  • Vice-Chair of the UN First Committee in 2012
  • Member of the UN Security Council in 1997/1998
  • President of the 5th session of the Conference on Disarmament in 2014
  • President of the 1st session of the Conference on Disarmament in 2004



The Permanent Mission of the Republic of Kenya to the United Nations

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament