Country Profile: Kuwait


The State of Kuwait is an oil-rich country located in Western Asia at the tip of the Persian Gulf. Kuwait borders Iraq to the northwest, Saudi Arabia to the south. Kuwait is a constitutional emirate with a semi-democratic political system that gained its independence in 1961.

Capital: Kuwait City

Kuwait does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1964
  • Signed Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1989
  • Acceded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1971
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM) in 2004
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1997
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 1972
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2003
  • Acceded to the Moon Treaty (Celestial Bodies) in 2014
  • Acceded to the Outer Space Treaty on 1972
  • Signed the Partial test Ban Treaty om 1963
    • Ratified in 1965
  • Acceded to the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 2007
  • Acceded to the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2013
  • Acceded to the Convention on Environmental Modification Techniques (ENMOD) in 1980
  • Signed the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2005
    • Ratified in 2013



  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Asia-Pacific Group
  • Member of the Arab League
  • Member of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)



  • Vice-Chair of the UN First Committee in 2015 and 2011
  • Member of the UN Security Council in 2018/2019
  • Member of the UN 1540 Committee in 2019



Permanent Mission of the State of Kuwait to the United Nations

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament