Country Profile: Lesotho


The Kingdom of Lesotho is an enclaved country surrounded by the Republic of South Africa. Lesotho is a parliamentary representative democratic constitutional monarchy that gained its independence 1966.

Capital: Maseru

Lesotho does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1970
  • Signed Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1970
  • Succeeded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1973
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1994
    • Ratified in 1994
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 1977
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 1999
  • Signed the Outer Space Treaty in 1967
  • Signed the Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
    • Ratified in 1973
  • Signed the Pelindaba Treaty in 1996
    • Ratified in 2002
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Acceded to the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2000
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2010
  • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2013
    • Ratified in 2016
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM) in 2010
    • Accepted the 2005 CPPNM Amendment in 2012
  • Signed the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2005
    • Ratified in 2010
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2019


  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the African Union


Lesotho Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Relations

Permanent Mission of the Kingdom of Lesotho to the United Nations

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament