Country Profile: Malawi


The Republic of Malawi is a landlocked country located in southeastern Africa. Malawi borders Tanzania to the northeast, Mozambique to southeast and southwest, and Zambia to the west. Malawi is a presidential representative democratic republic that gained its independence in 1964.

Capital: Lilongwe

Malawi does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1964
  • Acceded to the Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1986
  • Acceded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1970
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 2013
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1998
    • Ratified in 2008
  • Succeeded to the Partial test Ban Treaty in 1964
  • Acceded to the Convention on Environmental Modification Techniques (ENMOD) in 1978
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2009
  • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2014
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Signed the Pelindaba Treaty, in 1996
    • Ratified in 2009
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2013
  • Acceded to the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2009
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2017



  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the African Union



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament