Country Profile: Mauritania


The Islamic Republic of Mauritania is located on the western coast of Africa. It borders the non-self-governing territory of Western Sahara to the northwest, Algeria to the north, Mali to the south and southeast, and Senegal to the south.  Mauritania is a constitutional republic that gained its independence in 1960.

Capital: Nouakchott

Mauritania does not possess any nuclear power plants or research reactors.

In 2008 the Australian company Aura Energy launched the Tiris Uranium Project based on a major uranium discovery in Mauritania. In July 2019, the company concluded its feasibility study but the mine has yet to be operational.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1964
  • Acceded to the Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1993
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Acceded to the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 2015
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2003
  • Signed the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
    • Ratified in 1964
  • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2013
    • Ratified in 2015
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2010
    • Ratified in 2012
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2000
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2008
    • Ratified the 2005 Amendment to CPPNM in 2008
  • Signed the Pelindaba Treaty in 1996
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Acceded to the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2008


  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the African Union
  • Member of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)


  • Chair for the Assembly of the African Union on 2014/2015


Permanent Mission of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania to the United Nations

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament