Country Profile: Mauritius


The Republic of Mauritius is an island country located in the Indian Ocean off the coast of Africa. Mauritius is a parliamentary republic since its independence in 1968.

Capital: Port Louis

Mauritius does not possess any nuclear power plants or research reactors.

Mauritius has one facility located in Reduit which uses a Cobalt-60 irradiator used for agricultural purposes. The facility was inaugurated in August 2019, with the support of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1973
  • Signed Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1969
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1993
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 1973
  • Succeeded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1970
  • Acceded to the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2015
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1997
  • Acceded to the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 1966
  • Acceded to the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2015
  • Acceded to the Convention on Environmental Modification Techniques (ENMOD) in 1992
  • Signed the Pelindaba Treaty, in 1996
    • Ratified in 1996
  • Succeeded to the Outer Space Treaty in 1969
  • Succeeded to the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1969
  • Signed the Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
    • Ratified in 1971
  • Signed the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2005


  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the African Union


Permanent Mission of the Republic of Mauritius to the United Nations

Mauritius Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament