Country Profile: Bahamas


Located in the eastern part of the Caribbean, the Bahamas are surrounded by the United States, Cuba, and Haiti. The Bahamas is a parliamentary constitutional monarchy that gained its independence in 1973.

Capital: Nassau

Bahamas does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1983
  • Succeeded to the Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1976
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1994
    • Ratified in 2009
  • Acceded to the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1986
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 2005
    • Ratified in 2007
  • Succeeded to the Outer Space Treaty in 1976
  • Succeeded to the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1976
  • Acceded to the Sea-bed Treaty in 1989
  • Signed Treaty of Tlatelolco in 1976
    • Ratified in 1977
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Signed the Inter-American Convention on Firearms in 1998
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2003
    • Ratified in 2014



  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Latin American and Caribbean Group (GRULAC)
  • Member of Organization for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (OPANAL)
  • Member of the Organization for American States (OAS)
  • Member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM)



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament