Country Profile: Mongolia


Mongolia is a landlocked country located in East Asia that borders China and Russia. Mongolia is a semi-presidential representative democratic republic that gained its independence in 1921.

Capital: Ulaanbaatar

Mongolia does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.

In 1992, Mongolia declared its intention to become a one state nuclear-weapon-free zone (NWFZ). In 2003 the NWFZ status of Mongolia entered into force and was recognized by the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA).


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1993
  • Signed Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1969
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1995
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 1972
  • Acceded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1968
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 1997
  • Signed the Outer Space Treaty in 1967
    • Ratified in 1967
  • Signed the Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
    • Ratified in 1963
  • Signed the Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
    • Ratified in 1971
  • Acceded to the Antarctic Treaty in 2015
  • Signed the Convention on Environmental Modification Techniques (ENMOD) in 1977
    • Ratified in 1978
  • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2013
  • Signed the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 1981
    • Ratified in 1982
  • Signed the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2005
    • Ratified in 2006


  • Member of the Conference on Disarmament
  • Member of the G-21
  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Asia-Pacific Group


  • President of the 2nd session of the Conference on Disarmament in 2015


Mongolia Permanent Mission to the United Nations

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Mongolia

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament