Country Profile: Morocco


Located on the western-most tip of North Africa’s Maghreb region, the Kingdom of Morocco is bordered by Algeria, Mauritania, and the disputed territory of Western Sahara. Morocco is a parliamentary constitutional monarchy that gained its independence in 1956.

Capital: Rabat

There are no nuclear power plants located in Morocco. The National Center for Nuclear Energy, Science, and Technology (CNESTEN) has operated one nuclear research reactor (MA-R1) since 2007. MA-R1 is a Triga Mark II, light water reactor producing 2000 kW thermal, that is used primarily for research and irradiation.


  • Member of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 1961
  • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 1957
  • Acceded to the 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1970
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 2002
  • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1995
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty in 1996
    • Ratified in 2000
  • Signed Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 1981
    • Ratified in 2002
  • Signed Convention on Environmental Modification Techniques (ENMOD) in 1977
  • Signed International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2006
    • Ratified in 2010
  • Signed Moon Treaty (Celestial Bodies) in 1980
    • Ratified in 1993
  • Acceded to Outer Space Treaty in 1967
  • Signed Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
    • Ratified in 1966
  • Signed Treaty of Pelindaba in 1996
  • Signed Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
    • Ratified in 1972
  • Signed Treaty on the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1970


  • Member of the G-21
  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Africa Group
  • Member of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)
  • Member of the Arab League
  • Member of the African Union


  • Member of the Executive Council of the OPCW in 2018-2019
  • President of the Conference on Disarmament in 2015
  • Vice-Chair of the UN Disarmament Commission in 2012 and 2014
  • Member of the UN 1540 Committee in 2012-2013
  • Vice-Chair of the UN First Committee in 2005


UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament