Country Profile: Namibia


The Republic of Namibia is located on the coast of South West Africa, bordered by Angola to the north, Zambia to the northeast, Botswana to the east, South Africa to the south, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. Namibia is a parliamentary democracy that gained its independence from South Africa in 1990.

Capital: Windhoek

Namibia does not possess any nuclear research reactors or power plants.

Namibia is one of the world’s largest uranium producers, capable of providing 10% of the global mining output. In 2018 the Namibian government articulated its desire to generate electricity from nuclear power, but there has yet to be evident progress towards this goal.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1979
  • Acceded to the Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) in 1992
  • Signed the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1995
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2001
  • Signed the Pelindaba Treaty in 1996
    • Ratified in 2012
  • Signed the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in 2014
  • Signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2018
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM) in 2002
  • Acceded to the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2016
  • Signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2017


  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the African Union


  • Non-Permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) in 1999/2000
  • President of the 22nd and 23rd Special Sessions in the UN General Assembly in 2000


Permanent Mission of the Republic of Namibia to the United Nations

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament