Country Profile: Nepal


The Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal is located in the Himalayan region between China to the north and India to the south, east, and west. Nepali is the official spoken language. Nepal has been a secular federal parliamentary republic since it declared independence in 2008.

Capital: Kathmandu

Nepal does not possess any nuclear power plants, research reactors, or other nuclear facilities.


          • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1961
          • Joined International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in 2008
          • Acceded to 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1969
          • Signed & Ratified Outer Space Treaty in 1967
          • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
            • Ratified in 2016
          • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
            • Ratified in 1997
          • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
          • Signed Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
            • Ratified in 1964
          • Signed & Ratified Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
          • Signed Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1968
            • Ratified in 1970
          • Signed Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2017



          • Member of the Asia-Pacific Group
          • Member of the G77



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament

Nepal Ministry of Foreign Affairs