Country Profile: Oman


The Sultanate of Oman is an Islamic country located on the Arabian Peninsula, bordered by Yemen, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. It is ranked 25th in the world for its large oil reserves and has historically benefited economically from its strategic port position on the Strait of Hormuz. Oman has an absolute monarchy type of government that gained its independence in 1951.

Capital: Muscat

Oman has no nuclear research reactors or nuclear power plants, although it does use radiation sources for medical, industrial, and research purposes.


  • Joined Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1973
  • Acceded to Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 2014
  • Acceded to Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1992
  • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1995
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1999
    • Ratified in 2003
  • Acceded to Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1997
  • Acceded to the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in 2011


  • Member of the Arab League
  • Member of the Gulf Cooperation Council
  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Asia-Pacific Group


UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament