Country Profile: Papua New Guinea


The Independent State of Papua New Guinea is in the southwest region of the Pacific Ocean, near Australia, and occupies the eastern half of the island of New Guinea. One of the most culturally diverse countries in the world, its population of over 8 million people speaks some 850 languages. Papua New Guinea is a constitutional parliamentary republic that gained its independence in 1975.

Capital: Port Moresby

There are no nuclear research reactors or nuclear power plants located in Papua New Guinea.


  • Member of Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 1993
  • Acceded to Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1980
  • Succeeded to 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1980
  • Succeeded to Antarctic Treaty in 1981
  • Acceded to Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 2004
  • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1996
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
  • Acceded to Convention on Environmental Modification Techniques (ENMOD) in 1980
  • Succeeded to Outer Space Treaty in 1981
  • Succeeded to Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1980
  • Signed South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Treaty in 1985
    • Ratified in 1989
  • Acceded to Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1982
  • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 2012


  • Member of the Commonwealth of Nations
  • Member of the Asia-Pacific Group
  • Member of the G-77



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament