Country Profile: Philippines


The Republic of the Philippines consists of over 7,000 islands located in the Pacific Ocean off the southeast coast of Asia. It is the world’s 5th largest island nation with one of the largest international diasporas. The Philippines shares its maritime borders with China, Japan, Vietnam, and Taiwan to the west, Malaysia and Indonesia to the south, and Palau to the east. Philippines is a presidential representative democratic republic that gained its independence in 1946.

Capital: Manila

There are no operational nuclear power plants located in the Philippines. The Bataan Nuclear Power Plant, which was constructed on the nearby Bataan Peninsula, was never fueled. In 1963, under the United States’ Atoms for Peace project, one nuclear research reactor was constructed in the Philippines (PRR-1). It was shut down in the 1980s and recently scheduled for decommissioning.


  • Member of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 1993
  • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 1958
  • Acceded to 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1973
  • Signed Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2000
  • Signed Arms Trade Treaty in 2013
  • Signed Bangkok Treaty in 1995
    • Ratified in 2001
  • Signed Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1972
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 1973
  • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1996
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2001
  • Signed Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 1981
    • Ratified in 1996
  • Signed Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2019
  • Signed Moon Treaty (Celestial Bodies) in 1980
    • Ratified in 1981
  • Signed Outer Space Treaty in 1967
  • Signed Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
    • Ratified in 1965
  • Acceded to Sea-bed Treaty in 1993
  • Signed the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 1980
    • Ratified in 1981
  • Signed International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2005
  • Signed Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2017


  • Member of the G-77
  • Member of the Asia-Pacific Group
  • Founding member of ASEAN



  • Chair of NPT Review Conference in 2010
  • Vice-Chair of the UN First Committee in 2009 and 2010
  • Non-permanent member of the UN Security Council in 2004/2005
  • Chair of ASEAN in 2006 and 2017


Philippines Department of Foreign Affairs 

Permanent Mission of the Republic of the Philippines to the United Nations

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament