Country Profile: Rwanda


The Republic of Rwanda is bordered by Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. After the humanitarian, political, and economic crises that resulted from its 1994 genocide, Rwanda has recovered notably and today is fairly stable with a growing economy. Rwanda is a constitutional parliamentary republic that gained its independence in 1962.

Capital: Kigali

There are no nuclear power plants or research reactors in Rwanda.


  • Joined the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) in 1970
  • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 2012
  • Succeeded to 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1964
  • Signed Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 2000
  • Signed Arms Trade Treaty in 2013
  • Signed Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2015
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 1975
  • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 2004
  • Signed & Ratified Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 2004
  • Signed Kinshasa Convention in 2011
  • Signed Outer Space Treaty in 1967
  • Signed & Ratified Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2002
  • Signed International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2006
  • Signed Treaty of Pelindaba in 1996
    • Ratified in 2007
  • Signed Sea-bed Treaty in 1971
    • Ratified in 1975
  • Acceded to Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1975


  • Member of the Africa Group
  • Member of the African Union


  • President Paul Kagame, Chair of the Assembly of the African Union in 2018-2019


Rwanda Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation 

Permanent Mission of Rwanda to the United Nations

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament