Country Profile: Saint Lucia


A sovereign island nation since 1979, Saint Lucia is located in the Lesser Antilles region of the Caribbean and shares maritime borders with Barbados, Martinique, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Venezuela. Saint Lucia is a parliamentary democratic constitutional monarchy as well as a member of the Commonwealth, with Queen Elizabeth as the country’s head of state. 

Capital: Castries

There are no nuclear power plants or research reactors in Saint Lucia.


  • Member of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 1983
  • Member of International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 2019
  • Succeeded to 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1988
  • Signed Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1999
  • Signed Arms Trade Treaty in 2013
    • Ratified in 2014
  • Acceded to Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1986
  • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Signed in 1997
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2001
  • Succeeded to Convention on Environmental Modification Techniques (ENMOD) in 1993
  • Signed Inter-American Convention on Firearms in 1998
    • Ratified in 2003
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2012
  • Acceded (with reservation) to International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2012
  • Acceded to Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1979
  • Signed Treaty of Tlatelolco in 1992
    • Ratified in 1995
    • Acceded in 2014
  • Signed Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2018
    • Ratified in 2019


  • Member of GRULAC
  • Member of CARICOM
  • Member of Organization of American States (OAS) since 1979


  • President of the 58th General Session and 10th Emergency Special Session of the UN General Assembly in 2003-2004


Saint Lucia Ministry of External Affairs, International Trade and Civil Aviation

Permanent Mission of Saint Lucia to the United Nations

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament