Country Profile: Saint Kitts and Nevis


Also known as the Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Kitts and Nevis is a Commonwealth country located in the Lesser Antilles islands of the West Indies. Saint Kitts and Nevis is a constitutional monarchy that gained its independence in 1983.

Capital: Basseterre

There are no nuclear power plants or research reactors in Saint Kitts and Nevis.


  • Member of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 2006
  • Acceded to Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1991
  • Succeeded to 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1989
  • Signed Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 1997
    • Ratified in 1998
  • Signed Arms Trade Treaty in 2013
    • Ratified in 2014
  • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1994
    • Ratified in 2004
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 2004
    • Ratified in 2005
  • Acceded to Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2013
  • Signed Inter-American Convention on Firearms in 1997
    • Ratified in 2004
  • Ratified Sea-bed Treaeety in 1972
  • Signed Treaty of Tlatelolco in 1994
    • Ratified in 2012
  • Acceded to Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1993
  • Signed Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2019


  • Member of Organization of American States (OAS) since 1964
  • Member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM)
  • Member of GRULAC



UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament