Country Profile: Seychelles


The Republic of Seychelles is an archipelago consisting of 115 islands, located in the Indian Ocean off the coast of East Africa. Seychelles is a multi-party presidential republic that gained its independence in 1976.

Capital: Victoria

There are no nuclear research reactors or power plants in Seychelles.


  • Member of Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 1976
  • Member of International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 2003
  • Signed Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention i n 1997
    • Ratified in 2000
  • Signed Arms Trade Treaty in 2013
    • Ratified in 2015
  • Acceded to Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1979
  • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1993
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
    • Ratified in 2004
  • Acceded to Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2000
  • Signed and ratified Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2010
  • Acceded to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials (CPPNM) in 2003
  • Signed the International Convention on the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2005
  • Acceded to Outer Space Treaty in 1978
  • Acceded to Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1985
  • Acceded to Sea-bed Treaty in 1985
  • Signed the Treaty of Pelindaba in 1996
    • Ratified in 2014
  • Acceded to Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1985
  • Signed the Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) in 2018


  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the African Union
  • Member of the G-77



Department of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Seychelles

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament