Country Profile: Somalia


The Federal Republic of Somalia is located on the Horn of Africa. It has the longest coastline on the mainland of Africa, and is bordered by Ethiopia, Djibouti, and Kenya. Since the early 2000s, Somalia has been in a state of civil war with multi-faceted conflicts, including the insurgency of groups such as al-Shabaab and the autonomous region of Somaliland. Somalia has been an independent state since 1960.

Capital: Mogadishu

There are no nuclear research reactors or power plants in Somalia.


  • Member of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 1961
  • Acceded to Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in 2012
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
  • Acceded to Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 2013
  • Signed Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2008
    • Ratified in 2015
  • Signed Outer Space Treaty in 1967
  • Signed Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
  • Signed the Treaty of Pelindaba in 2006
  • Signed Treaty for the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1970


  • Member of G-77
  • Member of the African Group
  • Member of the Arab League
  • Member of the African Union
  • Member of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)



Federal Republic of Somalia Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament