Country Profile: Sri Lanka


The Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka is an island nation located in the Indian Ocean. Independent as a member of the Commonwealth since 1948, Sri Lanka is a semi-presidential representative democratic republic. It has an ancient history and rich cultural heritage in the region, especially among the majority Buddhist populations. A quarter-century of civil war between the Sri Lankan Armed Forces and the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam ended in 2009.

Capital: Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte

There are no nuclear research reactors or power plants in Sri Lanka.


  • Member of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) since 1961
  • Member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 1957
  • Acceded to 1925 Geneva Protocol in 1953
  • Acceded to Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Conventioni in 2017
  • Signed Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1972
    • Ratified in 1986
  • Signed Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in 1993
    • Ratified in 1994
  • Signed Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) in 1996
  • Acceded to Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons in 2004
  • Acceded to Convention on Cluster Munitions in 2018
  • Signed Convention on Environmental Modification Techniques (ENMOD) in 1977
    • Ratified in 1978
  • Signed Outer Space Treaty in 1967
    • Ratified in 1986
  • Signed Partial Test Ban Treaty in 1963
    • Ratified in 1964
  • Signed International Convention on the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (ICSANT) in 2005
    • Ratified in 2007
  • Signed Treaty on the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) in 1968
    • Ratified in 1979


  • Member of the Asia-Pacific Group
  • Founding member of South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)
  • Member of the G-77



Sri Lanka Ministry of Foreign Relations

Permanent Mission of Sri Lanka to the United Nations

UN State Summary

Ratification of Treaties & Membership in International Organizations Related to Disarmament